Leaders Meet take stock of CAA-NRC-NPR protests across India; Movement for Protection of Constitution launched

A consultative meeting of leaders belonging to various religious, social and political groups held at Constitution Club, New Delhi on 13th January 2020 has discussed the status of on-going agitation across India against CAA-NRC-NPR and decided to launch Samvidhan Suraksha Andolan (Movement for the Protection of Constitution) to support and strengthen people’s protests for their basic right of citizenship as envisaged in the Indian Constitution. The meeting was presided by Maulana Muhammad Wali Rahmani (General Secretary, All India Muslim Personal Law Board & Ameer, Imarat-e-Sharia, Bihar, Jharkhand & Odisha). While opening the discussion, Maulana Wali Rahmani pointed out that we are passing through a critical phase and appraised that every responsible citizens and groups should come forward and play their role in saving our nation and its constitutional values.
The meeting observed that the conscience of the whole nation is reflected in the current protests that is spread all over India that are being forwarded by all sections of the society irrespective of differences and diversities with the exception only of right wing communal fascist forces. The meeting appreciated the lead role being played by students in campuses and the women in towns and even remote villages. Various ways and means of further coordinating and expanding the current protests till the defeat of the anti-people designs of the BJP government were discussed and decided in the meeting.
A Presidium to monitor, coordinate and strengthen the people’s movement against CAA-NRC-NPR was constituted with the following members.
Justice B G Kolse Patil (President, Lokshasan Andolan)
Waman Meshram (President, BAMCEF)
Maulana K R Sajjad Nomani (Islamic Scholar)
M K Faizy (President, SDPI)
Chandraseshar Azad (Chief, Bhim Army)
Fr Susai Sebastian (Vicar General, Delhi Archdiocese)
Maulana Obaidullah Azmi (Khidmate-Khalq, Muslim Personal Law Board)
Dr Asma Zehara (Founder, Muslim Women Association)
Dr Michael William (President, United Christian Forum)
Fr Denzil Fernandez (Ex Director, Indian Social Institute)

In addition, Raj Ratan Ambedkar (President, The Buddhist Society of India) and Muhammad Shafi (National General Secretary, SDPI) were designated as general secretaries.
A three member team with Yasmin Farooqui as convener and Dr. Asma Zehra and Mehrunnisa Khan was delegated the task of coordinating women’s role in the movement.
The following leaders also participated in the meeting.
Adv. Mahmood Pracha
Fr. Ajeet Patrik
Adv. A. Mohammad Yusuf (Secretary, NCHRO)
M. Mohammad Ali Jinnah (General Secretary, Popular Front of India)
Lalmani Prasad (Ex MP & Ex Minister UP)
Bhai Tej Singh (National President, Ambedkar Samaj Party)
E.M Abdul Rahiman (Member, NEC, Popular Front of India)
Sayed Sarwar Chisty (Khadime Khwaja Ajmer Sharif)
Mujtaba Farooq (Director Public Relations & Member Central Advisory Council, Jamaat-e-Islami Hind)
Bhanu Pratap Singh (National President, RJSP)
Dr. Tasleem Ahmed Rehmani (National Secretary, SDPI)
Abdus Salam (Ex MLA, Azamgarh, UP)