Taliban announce new acting govt for Afghanistan: Here’s a full list of cabinet ministers

The Taliban has announced the names of several members of a new caretaker government in Afghanistan led by Mohammad Hasan Akhund. The Taliban has appointed Mullah Mohammad Hasan Akhund as the ‘acting’ Prime Minister in the new Afghan government, with Mullah Abdul Ghani Baradar and Mullah Abdus Salam being his deputies.

The lesser know Mohammad Hasan Akhund who is on the UN terror list hails from Kandahar and was among the founders of the armed group. He worked for 20 years as head of Rehbari Shura and remained close to Taliban chief Hebatullah Akhundzada He had served as foreign minister and deputy prime minister during the Taliban’s previous government in Afghanistan from 1996 to 2001

Abdul Ghani Baradar, the head of the Taliban’s political office, will be the deputy leader while Sirajuddin Haqqani, son of the founder of the Haqqani network, has been named as interior minister. Baradar has been the Taliban’s most visible face in recent years as the group’s chief, Haibatullah Akhunzada, largely stays out of the public view.

Mullah Mohammad Yaqoob, son of Taliban founder Mullah Omar, has been named as defence minister. Hedayatullah Badri will be the acting minister of finance, while Amir Khan Muttaqi, a Taliban negotiator in Doha, was named foreign minister.

Sirajuddin Haqqani will get the portfolio of interior minister, the current head of the notorious Haqqani network and son of the founder of the Haqqani network Jalaluddin Haqqani, designated as a “terrorist” organisation by the United States. He is one of the FBI’s most wanted men.

“The Islamic Emirate decided to appoint and announce a caretaker cabinet to carry out the necessary government works,” said Mujahid, who named 33 members of “the new Islamic government” and said the remaining posts will be announced after careful deliberation.

Mujahid stressed the cabinet was an “acting” government and that the group will “try to take people from other parts of the country”.

The list of cabinet members announced by chief spokesman Zabihullah Mujahid on Tuesday was dominated by members the group’s old guard, with no women included.

Here is the list of ministers in the Taliban government:

Hasan Akhund as the ‘acting’ PM in the new Afghan government.

Mullah Abdul Ghani Baradar and Mullah Abdus Salam will be his deputies.

Amir Khan Muttaqi will be the Foreign Minister.

Abas Stanikzai will be the acting deputy Foreign Minister.

Mullah Yaqoob will be the Defense Minister.

Sarajuddin Haqqani will be the Interior Minister.

Amir Khan Muttaqi will be the Foreign Minister.

Abas Stanikzai appointed as acting deputy Foreign Minister.

Acting Minister of Economy: Qari Din Hanif

Acting Minister for Hajj amd Religious Affairs: Mawlawi Noor Mohammad Saqib

Acting Minister of Justice: Mawlawi Abdul Hakim Sharie

Acting Minister of Borders and Tribal Affairs: Mullah Noorullah Noori

Acting Minister of Rural Rehabilitation and Development: Mullah Mohammad Younus Akhundzada

Acting Minister of Public Work: Mullah Abdul Manan Omari

Acting Minister of Mines and Petroleum: Mullah Mohammad Esa Akhund

Acting Minister of Water and Energy: Mullah Abdul Latif Mansoor

Acting Minister of Civil Aviation and Transport: Mullah Hamidullah Akhundzada

Acting Minister of Higher Education: Abdul Baqi Haqqani

Acting Minister of Telecommunication: Najibullah Haqqani

Acting Minister of Refugees: Khalilurahman Haqqani

Acting Director of Intelligence: Abdul Haq Wasiq

Acting Director of the Central Bank: Haji Mohammad Idris

Acting Director of the Administrative Office of the President: Ahmad Jan Ahmady

Taliban had promised to put together a more inclusive government, unlike the last time. The Taliban ruled the country from 1996 to 2001. However, the new cabinet does not have any signs of inclusivity.

The outfit was thrown out of power by US forces following the 9/11 terror attacks and since then the Taliban had been gradually regrouping across the border in Pakistan and has led an insurgency against the US-backed government in Kabul for nearly 20 years